Jan Dibbets. Stop Photography Now!

For Jan Dibbets, the importance of photography lies more in its special characteristics and technical possibilities than in its content and themes. Thus the artistic oeuvre of Jan Dibbets should also be seen and understood in the context of conceptual art as well as its forerunners – Muybridge, Blossfeldt, Man Ray Rodchenko, Man Ray or Duchamp – and his contemporaries – Bruce Nauman, Sol LeWitt, Gilbert & George and Richard Long. Perception itself, and not the perceived object or the representation of a “real world”, is at the centre of his work. His motifs include the high-gloss lacquer surfaces of cars, light and shadow plays on blinds, windows, photo sequences of interiors and – as a bridge between his early and current works – digital reworking of his own early photographic material. Jan Dibbet’s photo dialogues between Dutch landscapes, sea horizons and shifts in perspective, as well as the series of “Perspective Corrections” are among his most famous works and make Dibbets one of the fathers of conceptual photography. So, to talk to Dibbets: Stop taking pictures and start thinking about photography!

 

Already in 1972 Jan Dibbets represented the Netherlands at the Venice Biennale. Earlier in his career he took part in such legendary exhibitions as Serial Formations (Frankfurt am Main, 1967), Arte Povera (Amalfi, 1967), Konzept/Conception (Leverkusen, 1968), When Attitudes Become Form (Bern, Krefeld, London, 1968), Op Losse Schroeven (Amsterdam, Essen, 1968), Information (New York, 1970) and documenta 5,6 and 7 (1) Later his works were shown in important exhibitions, including Westkunst (Cologne, 1981), Bilderstreit (Cologne, 1989) and Light Years. Conceptual Art and the Photographer (Chicago, 2011). His most important solo projects include exhibitions at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam (1972,1986,2016), Kunsthalle Bern (1980), Guggenheim Museum New York (1987), Walker Art Center (1988), Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg (1996), Stichting De Pont (2001), Musée d’ Art Moderne Paris (2010) and Castello di Rivoli, Turin (2014). In 2016 Jan Dibbets curated the exhibition Pandra’s Box at the Musée d’ Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. Another Photography “- an overview of his ideas for a different interpretation of historical and contemporary photography.

 

Jan Dibbets has been represented by the Konrad Fischer Gallery since 1968. His works are represented in important institutional collections, including the MoMA in New York, the Metropolitan Museum, New York, Walker Art Center, the TATE Modern, London, the MIGROS Museum in Zurich, the Fotomuseum Winterthur, the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, the Kröller-Müller Museum in Otterlo, the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg and the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf.

Jan Dibbets, New Colorstudy, 1976-2012

Jan Dibbets, New Colorstudy, 1976-2012

Jan Dibbets, Duo Z, 1976-2014

Jan Dibbets, SVB2c Amsterdam 125. 1994

Jan Dibbets, Venetian Blind, 2014

Jan Dibbets, Perspective Collection Sol LeWitt

Jan Dibbets. Stop Photography Now!

For Jan Dibbets, the importance of photography lies more in its special characteristics and technical possibilities than in its content and themes. Thus the artistic oeuvre of Jan Dibbets should also be seen and understood in the context of conceptual art as well as its forerunners – Muybridge, Blossfeldt, Man Ray Rodchenko, Man Ray or Duchamp – and his contemporaries – Bruce Nauman, Sol LeWitt, Gilbert & George and Richard Long. Perception itself, and not the perceived object or the representation of a “real world”, is at the centre of his work. His motifs include the high-gloss lacquer surfaces of cars, light and shadow plays on blinds, windows, photo sequences of interiors and – as a bridge between his early and current works – digital reworking of his own early photographic material. Jan Dibbet’s photo dialogues between Dutch landscapes, sea horizons and shifts in perspective, as well as the series of “Perspective Corrections” are among his most famous works and make Dibbets one of the fathers of conceptual photography. So, to talk to Dibbets: Stop taking pictures and start thinking about photography!

 

Already in 1972 Jan Dibbets represented the Netherlands at the Venice Biennale. Earlier in his career he took part in such legendary exhibitions as Serial Formations (Frankfurt am Main, 1967), Arte Povera (Amalfi, 1967), Konzept/Conception (Leverkusen, 1968), When Attitudes Become Form (Bern, Krefeld, London, 1968), Op Losse Schroeven (Amsterdam, Essen, 1968), Information (New York, 1970) and documenta 5,6 and 7 (1) Later his works were shown in important exhibitions, including Westkunst (Cologne, 1981), Bilderstreit (Cologne, 1989) and Light Years. Conceptual Art and the Photographer (Chicago, 2011). His most important solo projects include exhibitions at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam (1972,1986,2016), Kunsthalle Bern (1980), Guggenheim Museum New York (1987), Walker Art Center (1988), Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg (1996), Stichting De Pont (2001), Musée d’ Art Moderne Paris (2010) and Castello di Rivoli, Turin (2014). In 2016 Jan Dibbets curated the exhibition Pandra’s Box at the Musée d’ Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. Another Photography “- an overview of his ideas for a different interpretation of historical and contemporary photography.

 

Jan Dibbets has been represented by the Konrad Fischer Gallery since 1968. His works are represented in important institutional collections, including the MoMA in New York, the Metropolitan Museum, New York, Walker Art Center, the TATE Modern, London, the MIGROS Museum in Zurich, the Fotomuseum Winterthur, the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, the Kröller-Müller Museum in Otterlo, the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg and the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf.

Jan Dibbets. Stop Photography Now!

Für Jan Dibbets liegt die Bedeutung der Fotografie eher in ihrer besonderen Charakteristik und ihren technischen Möglichkeiten als in ihren Inhalten und Themen begründet. So sollte das künstlerische Oeuvre von Jan Dibbets auch eher im Kontext sowohl der Konzeptkunst, als auch seiner Vorläufer – Muybridge, Blossfeldt, Man Ray Rodchenko, Man Ray oder Duchamp – und seiner Zeitgenossen – Bruce Nauman, Sol LeWitt, Gilbert & George und Richard Long – gesehen und verstanden werden. Die Wahrnehmung selbst, und nicht etwa das wahrgenommene Objekt oder die Abbildung einer „realen Welt“, stehen im Mittelpunkt seines Schaffens. Zu seinen Motiven zählen die hochglänzenden Lack-Oberflächen von Autos, Licht- und Schattenspiele auf Jalousien, Fenster, Foto-Sequenzen von Interieurs und – gleichsam als Brücke zwischen seinen frühen und seinen aktuellen Arbeiten – digitale Neubearbeitungen seines eigenen frühen Fotomaterials. Jan Dibbets Foto-Dialoge zwischen holländischen Landschaften, Meereshorizonten und Perspektivverschiebungen sowie die Serie von „Perspective Corrections“ zählen zu seinen bekanntesten Arbeiten und zeichnen Dibbets als einen der Väter der konzeptuellen Fotografie aus. Also, um mit Dibbets zu sprechen: Hört auf zu fotografieren und beginnt, über Fotografie nachzudenken!

 

Bereits 1972 repräsentierte Jan Dibbets die Niederlande auf der Biennale in Venedig. Schon früher innerhalb seiner Karriere nahm er an so legendären Ausstellungen teil wie Serielle Formationen (Frankfurt am Main, 1967), Arte Povera (Amalfi, 1967), Konzept/Conception (Leverkusen, 1968), When Attitudes Become Form (Bern, Krefeld, London, 1968), Op Losse Schroeven (Amsterdam, Essen, 1968), Information (New York, 1970) und an der documenta 5, 6 and 7 (1972, 1977, 1982). Später wurden seine Arbeiten in wichtigen Ausstellungen gezeigt, darunter Westkunst (Köln, 1981), Bilderstreit (Cologne, 1989) und Light Years. Conceptual Art and the Photograph (Chicago, 2011). Zu seinen bedeutendsten Solo-Projekten zählen die Ausstellungen im Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam (1972, 1986, 2016), in der Kunsthalle Bern (1980), im Guggenheim Museum New York (1987), im Walker Art Center (1988), im Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg (1996), in der Stichting De Pont (2001), im Musée d’Art Moderne Paris (2010) und im Castello di Rivoli, Turin (2014). 2016 kuratierte Jan Dibbets im Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris die Ausstellung „Pandra’s Box. Another Photography“ – eine Zusammenschau seiner Ideen zu einer anderen Lesart von historischer und zeitgenössischer Fotografie.

 

Schon seit 1968 wird Jan Dibbets von der Konrad Fischer Galerie vertreten. Seine Arbeiten sind in bedeutenden institutionellen Sammlungen vertreten, darunter das MoMA in New York, das Metropolitan Museum, New York, das Walker Art Center, die TATE Modern, London, das MIGROS Museum in Zürich, das Fotomuseum Winterthur, das Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, das Kröller-Müller Museum in Otterlo, das Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg und die Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf.

Jan Dibbets, New Colorstudy, 1976-2012

Jan Dibbets, New Colorstudy, 1976-2012

Jan Dibbets, Duo Z, 1976-2014

Jan Dibbets, SVB2c Amsterdam 125. 1994

Jan Dibbets, Venetian Blind, 2014

Jan Dibbets, Perspective Collection Sol LeWitt

Jan Dibbets. Stop Photography Now!

Für Jan Dibbets liegt die Bedeutung der Fotografie eher in ihrer besonderen Charakteristik und ihren technischen Möglichkeiten als in ihren Inhalten und Themen begründet. So sollte das künstlerische Oeuvre von Jan Dibbets auch eher im Kontext sowohl der Konzeptkunst, als auch seiner Vorläufer – Muybridge, Blossfeldt, Man Ray Rodchenko, Man Ray oder Duchamp – und seiner Zeitgenossen – Bruce Nauman, Sol LeWitt, Gilbert & George und Richard Long – gesehen und verstanden werden. Die Wahrnehmung selbst, und nicht etwa das wahrgenommene Objekt oder die Abbildung einer „realen Welt“, stehen im Mittelpunkt seines Schaffens. Zu seinen Motiven zählen die hochglänzenden Lack-Oberflächen von Autos, Licht- und Schattenspiele auf Jalousien, Fenster, Foto-Sequenzen von Interieurs und – gleichsam als Brücke zwischen seinen frühen und seinen aktuellen Arbeiten – digitale Neubearbeitungen seines eigenen frühen Fotomaterials. Jan Dibbets Foto-Dialoge zwischen holländischen Landschaften, Meereshorizonten und Perspektivverschiebungen sowie die Serie von „Perspective Corrections“ zählen zu seinen bekanntesten Arbeiten und zeichnen Dibbets als einen der Väter der konzeptuellen Fotografie aus. Also, um mit Dibbets zu sprechen: Hört auf zu fotografieren und beginnt, über Fotografie nachzudenken!

 

Bereits 1972 repräsentierte Jan Dibbets die Niederlande auf der Biennale in Venedig. Schon früher innerhalb seiner Karriere nahm er an so legendären Ausstellungen teil wie Serielle Formationen (Frankfurt am Main, 1967), Arte Povera (Amalfi, 1967), Konzept/Conception (Leverkusen, 1968), When Attitudes Become Form (Bern, Krefeld, London, 1968), Op Losse Schroeven (Amsterdam, Essen, 1968), Information (New York, 1970) und an der documenta 5, 6 and 7 (1972, 1977, 1982). Später wurden seine Arbeiten in wichtigen Ausstellungen gezeigt, darunter Westkunst (Köln, 1981), Bilderstreit (Cologne, 1989) und Light Years. Conceptual Art and the Photograph (Chicago, 2011). Zu seinen bedeutendsten Solo-Projekten zählen die Ausstellungen im Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam (1972, 1986, 2016), in der Kunsthalle Bern (1980), im Guggenheim Museum New York (1987), im Walker Art Center (1988), im Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg (1996), in der Stichting De Pont (2001), im Musée d’Art Moderne Paris (2010) und im Castello di Rivoli, Turin (2014). 2016 kuratierte Jan Dibbets im Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris die Ausstellung „Pandra’s Box. Another Photography“ – eine Zusammenschau seiner Ideen zu einer anderen Lesart von historischer und zeitgenössischer Fotografie.

 

Schon seit 1968 wird Jan Dibbets von der Konrad Fischer Galerie vertreten. Seine Arbeiten sind in bedeutenden institutionellen Sammlungen vertreten, darunter das MoMA in New York, das Metropolitan Museum, New York, das Walker Art Center, die TATE Modern, London, das MIGROS Museum in Zürich, das Fotomuseum Winterthur, das Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, das Kröller-Müller Museum in Otterlo, das Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg und die Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf.