Spurensuche

  • Artists:
    Kris ScholzThomas Schüpping
  • Date:
    16.2. to 18.3.2018
  • Venue:

Thomas Schüpping photographs landscapes with an intensity that asks for the aura as an authentic state of the real and considers one’s own standpoint between presence and absence. He creates surrogates for originality and pure beauty. Landscape photographs, which show traces of civilization in panoramas and close-ups, play a central role. In his series on electricity pylons, he deals with human intervention and the change of nature by the energy industry.

 

In his series Marks and Traces, Kris Scholz looks for traces of human activity in places where political or cultural events have taken place, such as Tian’ anmen Square, Mao’s study, the Great Wall, art districts 798 and Caochangdi. In museums, galleries, artist residencies and art academies he found unconscious colour arrangements on floors, boards and table tops where different artists had mixed, mixed or painted their colours with paint. By removing these unintended traces from the context, Scholz transforms them into surprising anonymous compositions. While Thomas Schüpping transforms the pylons into authorless sculptures, the reproductions of Kris Scholz’s trace fragments recall the abstract paintings of Jackson Pollock, Gerhard Richter and Kasimir Malevich.

Kris Scholz, Marks and Traces 32_UCCA

Kris Scholz, Marks and Traces_ Tyrone Guthrie Center 2, Monoghan

Thomas Schilling, nevada fire VI

Thomas Schilling, golden rocks II

Spurensuche

  • Artists:
    Kris ScholzThomas Schüpping
  • Date:
    16.2. to 18.3.2018
  • Venue:

Thomas Schüpping photographs landscapes with an intensity that asks for the aura as an authentic state of the real and considers one’s own standpoint between presence and absence. He creates surrogates for originality and pure beauty. Landscape photographs, which show traces of civilization in panoramas and close-ups, play a central role. In his series on electricity pylons, he deals with human intervention and the change of nature by the energy industry.

 

In his series Marks and Traces, Kris Scholz looks for traces of human activity in places where political or cultural events have taken place, such as Tian’ anmen Square, Mao’s study, the Great Wall, art districts 798 and Caochangdi. In museums, galleries, artist residencies and art academies he found unconscious colour arrangements on floors, boards and table tops where different artists had mixed, mixed or painted their colours with paint. By removing these unintended traces from the context, Scholz transforms them into surprising anonymous compositions. While Thomas Schüpping transforms the pylons into authorless sculptures, the reproductions of Kris Scholz’s trace fragments recall the abstract paintings of Jackson Pollock, Gerhard Richter and Kasimir Malevich.

Spurensuche

  • Künstler:
    Kris ScholzThomas Schüpping
  • Datum:
    16.2. bis 18.3.2018
  • Ort:

Thomas Schüpping fotografiert Landschaften mit einer Intensität, die nach der Aura als authentischem Zustand des Eigentlichen fragt und den eigenen Standpunkt zwischen Präsenz und Absenz bedenkt. Er schafft Surrogate für Ursprünglichkeit und reine Schönheit. Eine zentrale Rolle spielen dabei Landschaftsfotografien, die in Panoramen und Nahaufnahmen Spuren der Zivilisation zeigen. In seiner Serie über Strommasten thematisiert er den Eingriff des Menschen und die Veränderung der Natur durch die Energiewirtschaft.

 

Kris Scholz sucht in seiner Serie Marks and Traces nach Spuren menschlicher Aktivitäten an Orten und Plätzen, wo politische oder kulturelle Ereignisse stattgefunden haben, so auf dem Tian’anmen Platz, Maos Arbeitszimmer, der Chinesischen Mauer, den Kunstdistrikten 798 und Caochangdi. In Museen, Galerien, Artist Residencies und Kunstakademien fand er unbewusste Farbarrangements auf Fußböden, Brettern und Tischplatten, wo verschiedene Künstler ihre Farben, verkleckert, angemischt oder vom Pinsel abgestrichen hatten. Indem Scholz diese unintendierten Spuren aus dem Kontext löst, werden sie zu überraschenden anonymen Kompositionen. Während Thomas Schüpping die Strommasten zu autorenlosen Skulpturen transformiert, erinnern die Reproduktionen der Spurenfragmente von Kris Scholz an die abstrakten Bilder von Jackson Pollock, Gerhard Richter und Kasimir Malevich.

Kris Scholz, Marks and Traces 32_UCCA

Kris Scholz, Marks and Traces_ Tyrone Guthrie Center 2, Monoghan

Thomas Schilling, nevada fire VI

Thomas Schilling, golden rocks II

Spurensuche

  • Künstler:
    Kris ScholzThomas Schüpping
  • Datum:
    16.2. bis 18.3.2018
  • Ort:

Thomas Schüpping fotografiert Landschaften mit einer Intensität, die nach der Aura als authentischem Zustand des Eigentlichen fragt und den eigenen Standpunkt zwischen Präsenz und Absenz bedenkt. Er schafft Surrogate für Ursprünglichkeit und reine Schönheit. Eine zentrale Rolle spielen dabei Landschaftsfotografien, die in Panoramen und Nahaufnahmen Spuren der Zivilisation zeigen. In seiner Serie über Strommasten thematisiert er den Eingriff des Menschen und die Veränderung der Natur durch die Energiewirtschaft.

 

Kris Scholz sucht in seiner Serie Marks and Traces nach Spuren menschlicher Aktivitäten an Orten und Plätzen, wo politische oder kulturelle Ereignisse stattgefunden haben, so auf dem Tian’anmen Platz, Maos Arbeitszimmer, der Chinesischen Mauer, den Kunstdistrikten 798 und Caochangdi. In Museen, Galerien, Artist Residencies und Kunstakademien fand er unbewusste Farbarrangements auf Fußböden, Brettern und Tischplatten, wo verschiedene Künstler ihre Farben, verkleckert, angemischt oder vom Pinsel abgestrichen hatten. Indem Scholz diese unintendierten Spuren aus dem Kontext löst, werden sie zu überraschenden anonymen Kompositionen. Während Thomas Schüpping die Strommasten zu autorenlosen Skulpturen transformiert, erinnern die Reproduktionen der Spurenfragmente von Kris Scholz an die abstrakten Bilder von Jackson Pollock, Gerhard Richter und Kasimir Malevich.