Martin Klimas. polarloops

  • Artists:
    Martin Klimas
  • Date:
    19.1. to 03.3.2018
  • Venue:

In his experimental examination of the medium of photography, Martin Klima’s artistic practice repeatedly revolves around the two factors that constitute the medium of light and time.

 

Martin Klimas is a photographer, in which each result is preceded by lengthy theoretical research and a series of practical experiments. Martin Klimas does not find his motifs, he constructs them. His studio is the site of the experiment and the final image production, his photographic method is analytical rather than intuitive.

 

Klimas current exhibition’ polarloops’ is the result of his work with specific aspects of light. The films in the exhibition are the aesthetic form of his experiments and experimental setups on the physical phenomenon of light polarization. Klimas uses his camera to film collages made of transparent foil, which he has cut out and arranged on a light table for various constellations. The result is a motionless film, a banal still life of isolated, geometric, colorless, plastic films. Interesting and aesthetically relevant, the experiment installs a polarizing filter between still life and camera, which rotates 360 degrees and thus filters out ever different light waves between still life and camera. The result is now colourful and above all, it seems to us to be moving and in constant change, a dynamic transformation of light, form and colour.

 

Like light boxes, climate-friendly works seem to the viewer from the darkness of the gallery space, subject to constant transformation, without beginning and end, yet still retain their pictorial character. The polarizations represent nothing but their own transformation, are aesthetic manifestations of physical phenomena and inevitably fascinate us.

 

Martin Klimas, untitled (polarization #0215) video still, 2017

Martin Klimas, untitled (#0217), video still, 2017

Martin Klimas. polarloops

  • Artists:
    Martin Klimas
  • Date:
    19.1. to 03.3.2018
  • Venue:

In his experimental examination of the medium of photography, Martin Klima’s artistic practice repeatedly revolves around the two factors that constitute the medium of light and time.

 

Martin Klimas is a photographer, in which each result is preceded by lengthy theoretical research and a series of practical experiments. Martin Klimas does not find his motifs, he constructs them. His studio is the site of the experiment and the final image production, his photographic method is analytical rather than intuitive.

 

Klimas current exhibition’ polarloops’ is the result of his work with specific aspects of light. The films in the exhibition are the aesthetic form of his experiments and experimental setups on the physical phenomenon of light polarization. Klimas uses his camera to film collages made of transparent foil, which he has cut out and arranged on a light table for various constellations. The result is a motionless film, a banal still life of isolated, geometric, colorless, plastic films. Interesting and aesthetically relevant, the experiment installs a polarizing filter between still life and camera, which rotates 360 degrees and thus filters out ever different light waves between still life and camera. The result is now colourful and above all, it seems to us to be moving and in constant change, a dynamic transformation of light, form and colour.

 

Like light boxes, climate-friendly works seem to the viewer from the darkness of the gallery space, subject to constant transformation, without beginning and end, yet still retain their pictorial character. The polarizations represent nothing but their own transformation, are aesthetic manifestations of physical phenomena and inevitably fascinate us.

Martin Klimas. polarloops

  • Künstler:
    Martin Klimas
  • Datum:
    19.1. bis 03.3.2018
  • Ort:

In seiner experimentellen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Medium Photographie kreist die künstlerische Praxis Martin Klimas immer wieder um die zwei das Medium konstituierenden Faktoren Licht und Zeit.

 

Martin Klimas ist ein Fotograf, bei dem jedem Bildergebnis längere theoretische Recherchen und eine Reihe von praktischen Experimenten vorausgehen.
Martin Klimas findet seine Motive nicht, er konstruiert sie. Sein Studio ist der Ort des Experiments und der finalen Bildproduktion, seine fotografische Methode eher analytisch als intuitiv.

 

Klimas aktuelle Ausstellung ‘polarloops’ ist das Ergebnis seiner Beschäftigung mit spezifischen Aspekten des Lichts. Die Filme der Ausstellung sind die ästhetische Form seiner Experimente und Versuchsaufbauten zum physikalischen Phänomen der Lichtpolarisation. Klimas filmt mit seiner Kamera Collagen aus durchsichtiger Folie, die er zuvor ausgeschnitten hat und auf einem Leuchttisch zu diversen Konstellationen arrangiert hat. Das Ergebnis ist ein unbewegter Film, ein banales Stilleben vereinzelt verorteter, geometrischer, farbloser, Kunststofffolien. Interessant und ästhetisch relevant wird der Versuch in dem Moment in dem Klimas zwischen Stilleben und Kamera einen Polfilter installiert, der sich 360 Grad dreht und somit immer andere Lichtwellen zwischen Stilleben und Kamera ausfiltert. Das Resultat ist nun bunt und vor allen Dingen erscheint es uns bewegt und in ständiger Veränderung, eine dynamische Transformation von Licht, Form und Farbe.

 

Wie Leuchtkästen scheinen dem Betrachter Klimas Arbeiten aus dem Dunkel des Galerieraumes entgegen, stetiger Transformation unterworfen, ohne Anfang und Ende, behalten sie doch ihren Bildcharakter. Die Polarisationen bilden dabei nichts ab außer ihrem eigenen Wandel, sind ästhetische Manifestationen physikalischer Phänomene und ziehen uns dabei unausweichlich in ihren Bann.

Martin Klimas, untitled (polarization #0215) video still, 2017

Martin Klimas, untitled (#0217), video still, 2017

Martin Klimas. polarloops

  • Künstler:
    Martin Klimas
  • Datum:
    19.1. bis 03.3.2018
  • Ort:

In seiner experimentellen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Medium Photographie kreist die künstlerische Praxis Martin Klimas immer wieder um die zwei das Medium konstituierenden Faktoren Licht und Zeit.

 

Martin Klimas ist ein Fotograf, bei dem jedem Bildergebnis längere theoretische Recherchen und eine Reihe von praktischen Experimenten vorausgehen.
Martin Klimas findet seine Motive nicht, er konstruiert sie. Sein Studio ist der Ort des Experiments und der finalen Bildproduktion, seine fotografische Methode eher analytisch als intuitiv.

 

Klimas aktuelle Ausstellung ‘polarloops’ ist das Ergebnis seiner Beschäftigung mit spezifischen Aspekten des Lichts. Die Filme der Ausstellung sind die ästhetische Form seiner Experimente und Versuchsaufbauten zum physikalischen Phänomen der Lichtpolarisation. Klimas filmt mit seiner Kamera Collagen aus durchsichtiger Folie, die er zuvor ausgeschnitten hat und auf einem Leuchttisch zu diversen Konstellationen arrangiert hat. Das Ergebnis ist ein unbewegter Film, ein banales Stilleben vereinzelt verorteter, geometrischer, farbloser, Kunststofffolien. Interessant und ästhetisch relevant wird der Versuch in dem Moment in dem Klimas zwischen Stilleben und Kamera einen Polfilter installiert, der sich 360 Grad dreht und somit immer andere Lichtwellen zwischen Stilleben und Kamera ausfiltert. Das Resultat ist nun bunt und vor allen Dingen erscheint es uns bewegt und in ständiger Veränderung, eine dynamische Transformation von Licht, Form und Farbe.

 

Wie Leuchtkästen scheinen dem Betrachter Klimas Arbeiten aus dem Dunkel des Galerieraumes entgegen, stetiger Transformation unterworfen, ohne Anfang und Ende, behalten sie doch ihren Bildcharakter. Die Polarisationen bilden dabei nichts ab außer ihrem eigenen Wandel, sind ästhetische Manifestationen physikalischer Phänomene und ziehen uns dabei unausweichlich in ihren Bann.