Ralf Brueck. Deconstruction

Artist Ralf Brueck is one of the younger representatives of the Düsseldorf School of Photography at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, a group of well-known artists such as Candida Höfer and Thomas Ruff, whose master student he was.

 

The exhibition Deconstruction has the same title as the extensive series of Ralf Brueck’s works, which have been created since 2015. Ralf Brueck deals with the construction and reconstruction of buildings, architecture and urban situations. Through the choice of perspective, the intentional limitation, or the conscious truncation, up to the dismantling of certain pictorial contents, such as doubling, distortion or abstraction, we are forced to follow the subjective perception of the artist. Already in his series Timecapsules, which was created in the years 1996 – 2000, the artist dealt with the analysis of the construction of rooms, whereby his early work was mainly concerned with churches of the post-war period.

 

The further development of this approach is consistently continued in his latest series DECONSTRUCTION. This is why some of these early works are juxtaposed with his new large-format works in the exhibition.

 

Ralf Brueck, Home sweet home, 2015

Ralf Brueck, Hard work is always rewarded, 2014

Ralf Brueck, Kommandozentrale, 2015

Ralf Brueck. Deconstruction

Artist Ralf Brueck is one of the younger representatives of the Düsseldorf School of Photography at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, a group of well-known artists such as Candida Höfer and Thomas Ruff, whose master student he was.

 

The exhibition Deconstruction has the same title as the extensive series of Ralf Brueck’s works, which have been created since 2015. Ralf Brueck deals with the construction and reconstruction of buildings, architecture and urban situations. Through the choice of perspective, the intentional limitation, or the conscious truncation, up to the dismantling of certain pictorial contents, such as doubling, distortion or abstraction, we are forced to follow the subjective perception of the artist. Already in his series Timecapsules, which was created in the years 1996 – 2000, the artist dealt with the analysis of the construction of rooms, whereby his early work was mainly concerned with churches of the post-war period.

 

The further development of this approach is consistently continued in his latest series DECONSTRUCTION. This is why some of these early works are juxtaposed with his new large-format works in the exhibition.

Ralf Brueck. Deconstruction

Der Künstler Ralf Brueck gehört zu den jüngeren Vertretern der Düsseldorfer Fotoschule der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf aus der bekannte Künstler wie z.B. Candida Höfer und Thomas Ruff hervorgingen, dessen Meisterschüler er war.

 

Die Ausstellung Deconstruction steht unter dem gleichen Titel wie die umfangreiche Serie von Werken Ralf Bruecks, die seit 2015 entstanden sind. Darin setzt sich Ralf Brueck mit der Konstruktion und Rekonstruktion von Gebäuden, Architektur und urbanen Situationen auseinander. Durch die Wahl der Perspektive, der gewollten Eingrenzung, oder dem bewußten Anschnitt, bis hin zur Demontage bestimmter Bildinhalte,wie z.B. Verdoppelung, Verzerrung oder Abstraktion, werden wir gezwungen der subjektiven Wahrnehmung des Künstlers zu folgen. Schon in seiner Serie Timecapsules die in den Jahren 1996 – 2000 entstand, setzte sich der Künstler mit der Analyse der Konstruktion von Räumen auseinander, wobei das Frühwerk sich hauptsächlich mit Kirchen der Nachkriegszeit beschäftigte.

 

Die Weiterentwicklung dieses Ansatzes findet ihre konsequente Fortsetzung in seiner jüngsten Serie DECONSTRUCTION. Deswegen werden einige dieser frühen Arbeiten in der Ausstellung seinen neuen großformatigen Werken gegenübergestellt.
Neben den Bildern sind auch drei Videoarbeiten zu sehen.

Ralf Brueck, Home sweet home, 2015

Ralf Brueck, Hard work is always rewarded, 2014

Ralf Brueck, Kommandozentrale, 2015

Ralf Brueck. Deconstruction

Der Künstler Ralf Brueck gehört zu den jüngeren Vertretern der Düsseldorfer Fotoschule der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf aus der bekannte Künstler wie z.B. Candida Höfer und Thomas Ruff hervorgingen, dessen Meisterschüler er war.

 

Die Ausstellung Deconstruction steht unter dem gleichen Titel wie die umfangreiche Serie von Werken Ralf Bruecks, die seit 2015 entstanden sind. Darin setzt sich Ralf Brueck mit der Konstruktion und Rekonstruktion von Gebäuden, Architektur und urbanen Situationen auseinander. Durch die Wahl der Perspektive, der gewollten Eingrenzung, oder dem bewußten Anschnitt, bis hin zur Demontage bestimmter Bildinhalte,wie z.B. Verdoppelung, Verzerrung oder Abstraktion, werden wir gezwungen der subjektiven Wahrnehmung des Künstlers zu folgen. Schon in seiner Serie Timecapsules die in den Jahren 1996 – 2000 entstand, setzte sich der Künstler mit der Analyse der Konstruktion von Räumen auseinander, wobei das Frühwerk sich hauptsächlich mit Kirchen der Nachkriegszeit beschäftigte.

 

Die Weiterentwicklung dieses Ansatzes findet ihre konsequente Fortsetzung in seiner jüngsten Serie DECONSTRUCTION. Deswegen werden einige dieser frühen Arbeiten in der Ausstellung seinen neuen großformatigen Werken gegenübergestellt.
Neben den Bildern sind auch drei Videoarbeiten zu sehen.