The yellow genius. Charles Wilp and the journey to India

  • Artists:
    Charles Paul WilpSaraswati Albano-Müller
  • Date:
    15.2. to 18.3.2018
  • Venue:

When the hippie trail turns towards India, Charles Wilp leaves Düsseldorf in 1977, overcoming his immense fear of flying to visit the revived ashrams in India. Under the expert guidance of Saraswati Albano-Müller, an Indian living in Germany, Wilp finds access to numerous ashrams. Saraswati organizes the trip and opens the doors, Wilp travels with a camera and film team. The result is a series of photographs, some of which are later included in the book Freiheit Seninden (“Feeling Freedom”). An “optical essay”, a “trend observation”, as Wilp says.

 

It was not only low drug prices and the prospect of a very favourable life at that time that led to the movement. The great attraction of oriental mysticism, as well as a spiritually motivated search for meaning in the traditional rituals and customs of Hinduism and Buddhism, also had an attractive effect. For the time being, the dream of individual freedom, peace and love could only be lived far away from Western civilization.

 

For the first time, the Weltkunstzimmer presents the unique photographic and cinematic documents of this early journey to India and shows the connection with the departure of those years in the East.

 

Charles Paul Wilp (born 15 September 1932 in Witten, died 2 January 2005 in Düsseldorf) worked as a photographer and director of short films, was an internationally sought-after advertising expert (“Sexy-mini-super-flower-pop-op-cola – everything is in Afri-Cola”), artist and “Artronaut” of art, science and advertising combined with each other.

 

Saraswati Albano-Müller, Sundaram in Benares as the daughter of one of Gandhi’s employees, studied child psychology in London. She later founded a kindergarten in Schwelm (North Rhine-Westphalia), the “Colloquium Feminarum”, the “Jugendförderungswerk e. V.” and the “Philosophical Gastmahle”.

 

The book: Wilp, Charles; Saraswati,”Ways to Self-Realization. Meditation in India “, Dortmund, Munich, Society for Environmental Design, 1978
The film:”Die BewusstseinsGmbH”, 1978, (WDR, Feb. 1980)
The exhibition is curated by Carl Friedrich Schröer
The photographs are provided by the estate of Charles Wilp (Düsseldorf).

Poona - im Ashram des Sektengründers Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh. Charles Wilp, 1978.© bpk Bildagentur / Charles Wilp

Poona - im Ashram des Sektengründers Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh. Charles Wilp, 1978.© bpk Bildagentur / Charles Wilp

Charles Wilp mit seiner Nikon

The yellow genius. Charles Wilp and the journey to India

  • Artists:
    Charles Paul WilpSaraswati Albano-Müller
  • Date:
    15.2. to 18.3.2018
  • Venue:

When the hippie trail turns towards India, Charles Wilp leaves Düsseldorf in 1977, overcoming his immense fear of flying to visit the revived ashrams in India. Under the expert guidance of Saraswati Albano-Müller, an Indian living in Germany, Wilp finds access to numerous ashrams. Saraswati organizes the trip and opens the doors, Wilp travels with a camera and film team. The result is a series of photographs, some of which are later included in the book Freiheit Seninden (“Feeling Freedom”). An “optical essay”, a “trend observation”, as Wilp says.

 

It was not only low drug prices and the prospect of a very favourable life at that time that led to the movement. The great attraction of oriental mysticism, as well as a spiritually motivated search for meaning in the traditional rituals and customs of Hinduism and Buddhism, also had an attractive effect. For the time being, the dream of individual freedom, peace and love could only be lived far away from Western civilization.

 

For the first time, the Weltkunstzimmer presents the unique photographic and cinematic documents of this early journey to India and shows the connection with the departure of those years in the East.

 

Charles Paul Wilp (born 15 September 1932 in Witten, died 2 January 2005 in Düsseldorf) worked as a photographer and director of short films, was an internationally sought-after advertising expert (“Sexy-mini-super-flower-pop-op-cola – everything is in Afri-Cola”), artist and “Artronaut” of art, science and advertising combined with each other.

 

Saraswati Albano-Müller, Sundaram in Benares as the daughter of one of Gandhi’s employees, studied child psychology in London. She later founded a kindergarten in Schwelm (North Rhine-Westphalia), the “Colloquium Feminarum”, the “Jugendförderungswerk e. V.” and the “Philosophical Gastmahle”.

 

The book: Wilp, Charles; Saraswati,”Ways to Self-Realization. Meditation in India “, Dortmund, Munich, Society for Environmental Design, 1978
The film:”Die BewusstseinsGmbH”, 1978, (WDR, Feb. 1980)
The exhibition is curated by Carl Friedrich Schröer
The photographs are provided by the estate of Charles Wilp (Düsseldorf).

The yellow genius. Charles Wilp und die Reise nach Indien

  • Künstler:
    Charles Paul WilpSaraswati Albano-Müller
  • Datum:
    15.2. bis 18.3.2018
  • Ort:

Als der Hippie trail sich Richtung Indien wendet, macht sich 1977 auch Charles Wilp von Düsseldorf aus auf den Weg, überwindet seine immense Flugangst, um die neubelebten Ashrams in Indien aufzusuchen. Unter der kundigen Führung von Saraswati Albano-Müller, einer in Deutschland lebenden Inderin, findet Wilp Zugang zu zahlreichen Ashrams (dt. Ort der Anstrengung). Saraswati organisiert die Reise und öffnet die Türen, Wilp reist mit Fotokamera und Filmteam. Entstanden ist u.a eine Serie von Fotografien, die später z.T. in dem Fotoband Freiheit Empfinden Aufnahme finden. – Ein „optisches Essay“, eine „Trendbeobachtung“, wie Wilp sagt.

 

Es waren nicht allein niedrige Drogenpreise und die Aussicht auf ein damals äußerst günstiges Leben, die zu der Bewegung führten. Anziehend wirkte ebenfalls der große Reiz der orientalischen Mystik, wie auch eine spirituell motivierte Sinnsuche in den traditionellen Riten und Gebräuchen des Hinduismus und Buddhismus. Der Traum von individueller Freiheit, von Frieden und Liebe konnte, vorerst, nur weit Abseits der westlichen Zivilisation gelebt werden.

 

Erstmals stellt das Weltkunstzimmer die einzigartigen fotografischen und filmischen Dokumente dieser frühen Reise nach Indien vor und zeigt den Zusammenhang mit dem Aufbruch jener Jahre in den Osten auf.

 

Charles Paul Wilp (* 15. September 1932 in Witten; † 2. Januar 2005 in Düsseldorf) arbeitete als Fotograf und Regisseur von Kurzfilmen, war international gefragter Werbefachmann („Sexy-mini-super-flower-pop-op-cola – alles ist in Afri-Cola“), Künstler und „Artronaut“ der Kunst, Wissenschaft und Werbung miteinander verbindet.

 

Saraswati Albano-Müller, als Sundaram in Benares als Tochter eines Mitarbeiters Gandhis, studierte Kinder-Psychologie in London. Sie gründete später in Schwelm (NRW) einen Kindergarten, das „Colloquium Feminarum“, das „Jugendförderungswerk e.V.“ und die „Philosophischen Gastmahle“.

 

Das Buch: Wilp, Charles; Saraswati, „Wege zur Selbstverwirklichung. Meditation in Indien“, Dortmund, München, Gesellschaft für Umweltgestaltung, 1978
Der Film: „Die BewusstseinsGmbH“, 1978, (WDR, Feb. 1980)
Die Ausstellung wird kuratiert von Carl Friedrich Schröer
Die Fotografien werden vom Nachlaß Charles Wilp (Düsseldorf) zur Verfügung gestellt.

Poona - im Ashram des Sektengründers Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh. Charles Wilp, 1978.© bpk Bildagentur / Charles Wilp

Poona - im Ashram des Sektengründers Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh. Charles Wilp, 1978.© bpk Bildagentur / Charles Wilp

Charles Wilp mit seiner Nikon

The yellow genius. Charles Wilp und die Reise nach Indien

  • Künstler:
    Charles Paul WilpSaraswati Albano-Müller
  • Datum:
    15.2. bis 18.3.2018
  • Ort:

Als der Hippie trail sich Richtung Indien wendet, macht sich 1977 auch Charles Wilp von Düsseldorf aus auf den Weg, überwindet seine immense Flugangst, um die neubelebten Ashrams in Indien aufzusuchen. Unter der kundigen Führung von Saraswati Albano-Müller, einer in Deutschland lebenden Inderin, findet Wilp Zugang zu zahlreichen Ashrams (dt. Ort der Anstrengung). Saraswati organisiert die Reise und öffnet die Türen, Wilp reist mit Fotokamera und Filmteam. Entstanden ist u.a eine Serie von Fotografien, die später z.T. in dem Fotoband Freiheit Empfinden Aufnahme finden. – Ein „optisches Essay“, eine „Trendbeobachtung“, wie Wilp sagt.

 

Es waren nicht allein niedrige Drogenpreise und die Aussicht auf ein damals äußerst günstiges Leben, die zu der Bewegung führten. Anziehend wirkte ebenfalls der große Reiz der orientalischen Mystik, wie auch eine spirituell motivierte Sinnsuche in den traditionellen Riten und Gebräuchen des Hinduismus und Buddhismus. Der Traum von individueller Freiheit, von Frieden und Liebe konnte, vorerst, nur weit Abseits der westlichen Zivilisation gelebt werden.

 

Erstmals stellt das Weltkunstzimmer die einzigartigen fotografischen und filmischen Dokumente dieser frühen Reise nach Indien vor und zeigt den Zusammenhang mit dem Aufbruch jener Jahre in den Osten auf.

 

Charles Paul Wilp (* 15. September 1932 in Witten; † 2. Januar 2005 in Düsseldorf) arbeitete als Fotograf und Regisseur von Kurzfilmen, war international gefragter Werbefachmann („Sexy-mini-super-flower-pop-op-cola – alles ist in Afri-Cola“), Künstler und „Artronaut“ der Kunst, Wissenschaft und Werbung miteinander verbindet.

 

Saraswati Albano-Müller, als Sundaram in Benares als Tochter eines Mitarbeiters Gandhis, studierte Kinder-Psychologie in London. Sie gründete später in Schwelm (NRW) einen Kindergarten, das „Colloquium Feminarum“, das „Jugendförderungswerk e.V.“ und die „Philosophischen Gastmahle“.

 

Das Buch: Wilp, Charles; Saraswati, „Wege zur Selbstverwirklichung. Meditation in Indien“, Dortmund, München, Gesellschaft für Umweltgestaltung, 1978
Der Film: „Die BewusstseinsGmbH“, 1978, (WDR, Feb. 1980)
Die Ausstellung wird kuratiert von Carl Friedrich Schröer
Die Fotografien werden vom Nachlaß Charles Wilp (Düsseldorf) zur Verfügung gestellt.