Timm Rautert. Ist die Fotografie …

Galerie Rupert Pfab is pleased to host an exhibition by photographer Timm Rautert for the first time in its new premises at 71 Ackerstraße in Düsseldorf.

 

Born in West Prussia in 1941 and now living in Essen and Berlin, TIMM RAUTERT studied photography with Otto Steinert at the Folkwangschule für Gestaltung in Essen from 1966 to 1971.  While he was still a student, he produced extensive photo series in New York and Japan, including his first series of portraits of the Czech photographer Josef Sudek.

From 1968 to 1974 Rautert worked intensively on the conditions of photographic depictions. His important cycle Bildanalytische Photographie was created, which is now in the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. After his studies, Timm Rautert concentrated on social documentary topics, which were mainly published in the ZEIT magazine. His portrait series of numerous artists have also become famous, including Blinky Palermo, Franz Erhard Walther, Joseph Beuys, Gerhard Richter, James Turell, Robert Ryman, Andy Warhol, Walter de Maria, as well as Pina Bausch, Yehudi Menuhin, Claudio Abbado and Daniel Barenboim.

Our exhibition presents his work group CRAZY HORSE, photographed in 1974 at the nightclub of the same name in Paris. This work is complemented by a video on the deployment of American combat helicopters of the same name in Baghdad in 2007.

Two connecting texts refer to the origin of the term CRAZY HORSE.

In addition, we show the series, IS THE PHOTOGRAPHY…. and a selection of his pictures known from numerous publications as VINTAGE PRINTS (this term is used for a print that was enlarged by the photographer himself in the darkroom shortly after shooting, i. e. in close connection with the original artistic concept).

Timm Rautert, New York (General Motors), 1969

Timm Rautert, New York (Downtown, schwarzes Haus), 1969

Timm Rautert. Ist die Fotografie …

Galerie Rupert Pfab is pleased to host an exhibition by photographer Timm Rautert for the first time in its new premises at 71 Ackerstraße in Düsseldorf.

 

Born in West Prussia in 1941 and now living in Essen and Berlin, TIMM RAUTERT studied photography with Otto Steinert at the Folkwangschule für Gestaltung in Essen from 1966 to 1971.  While he was still a student, he produced extensive photo series in New York and Japan, including his first series of portraits of the Czech photographer Josef Sudek.

From 1968 to 1974 Rautert worked intensively on the conditions of photographic depictions. His important cycle Bildanalytische Photographie was created, which is now in the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. After his studies, Timm Rautert concentrated on social documentary topics, which were mainly published in the ZEIT magazine. His portrait series of numerous artists have also become famous, including Blinky Palermo, Franz Erhard Walther, Joseph Beuys, Gerhard Richter, James Turell, Robert Ryman, Andy Warhol, Walter de Maria, as well as Pina Bausch, Yehudi Menuhin, Claudio Abbado and Daniel Barenboim.

Our exhibition presents his work group CRAZY HORSE, photographed in 1974 at the nightclub of the same name in Paris. This work is complemented by a video on the deployment of American combat helicopters of the same name in Baghdad in 2007.

Two connecting texts refer to the origin of the term CRAZY HORSE.

In addition, we show the series, IS THE PHOTOGRAPHY…. and a selection of his pictures known from numerous publications as VINTAGE PRINTS (this term is used for a print that was enlarged by the photographer himself in the darkroom shortly after shooting, i. e. in close connection with the original artistic concept).

Timm Rautert. Ist die Fotografie …

Die Galerie Rupert Pfab freut sich, erstmals eine Ausstellung des Fotografen Timm Rautert in ihren neuen Räumen in der Ackerstraße 71 in Düsseldorf auszurichten.

Der 1941 in Westpreußen geborene und heute in Essen und Berlin lebende TIMM RAUTERT studierte von 1966 – 1971 Fotografie bei Otto Steinert an der Folkwangschule für Gestaltung in Essen.  Während seiner Studienzeit entstanden bereits umfangreiche Fotoserien in New York und Japan, auch eine erste Porträtserie über den tschechischen Fotografen Josef Sudek.

Von 1968 bis 1974 beschäftigte sich Rautert intensiv mit den Bedingungen fotografischer Darstellungen. Es entstand sein bedeutender Zyklus Bildanalytische Photographie, der sich heute in den Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden befindet. Nach dem Studium konzentrierte sich Timm Rautert auf sozialdokumentarische Themen, die vornehmlich im ZEIT-Magazin publiziert wurden. Bekannt wurden auch seine Porträtserien zahlreicher Künstler, darunter Blinky Palermo, Franz Erhard Walther, Joseph Beuys, Gerhard Richter, James Turell, Robert Ryman, Andy Warhol, Walter de Maria, aber auch Pina Bausch, Yehudi Menuhin, Claudio Abbado oder Daniel Barenboim.

 

Unsere Ausstellung stellt seine Werkgruppe CRAZY HORSE vor, die 1974 in dem gleichnamigen Nachtclub in Paris fotografiert wurde. Ergänzt wird diese Arbeit durch ein Video über den Einsatz amerikanischer Kampfhubschrauber gleichen Namens 2007 in Bagdad.

 

Zwei verbindende Texte beziehen sich auf die Herkunft des Begriffs CRAZY HORSE.

 

Darüber hinaus zeigen wir die Serie, IST DIE FOTOGRAFIE … und eine Auswahl seiner durch zahlreiche Publikationen bekannten Bilder als VINTAGE PRINTS (dieser Begriff wird für einen Abzug verwendet, der kurz nach der Aufnahme, d.h. In engem Zusammenhang zum ursprünglichen künstlerischen Konzept, vom Fotografen selbst in der Dunkelkammer vergrößert wurde).

Timm Rautert, New York (General Motors), 1969

Timm Rautert, New York (Downtown, schwarzes Haus), 1969

Timm Rautert. Ist die Fotografie …

Die Galerie Rupert Pfab freut sich, erstmals eine Ausstellung des Fotografen Timm Rautert in ihren neuen Räumen in der Ackerstraße 71 in Düsseldorf auszurichten.

Der 1941 in Westpreußen geborene und heute in Essen und Berlin lebende TIMM RAUTERT studierte von 1966 – 1971 Fotografie bei Otto Steinert an der Folkwangschule für Gestaltung in Essen.  Während seiner Studienzeit entstanden bereits umfangreiche Fotoserien in New York und Japan, auch eine erste Porträtserie über den tschechischen Fotografen Josef Sudek.

Von 1968 bis 1974 beschäftigte sich Rautert intensiv mit den Bedingungen fotografischer Darstellungen. Es entstand sein bedeutender Zyklus Bildanalytische Photographie, der sich heute in den Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden befindet. Nach dem Studium konzentrierte sich Timm Rautert auf sozialdokumentarische Themen, die vornehmlich im ZEIT-Magazin publiziert wurden. Bekannt wurden auch seine Porträtserien zahlreicher Künstler, darunter Blinky Palermo, Franz Erhard Walther, Joseph Beuys, Gerhard Richter, James Turell, Robert Ryman, Andy Warhol, Walter de Maria, aber auch Pina Bausch, Yehudi Menuhin, Claudio Abbado oder Daniel Barenboim.

 

Unsere Ausstellung stellt seine Werkgruppe CRAZY HORSE vor, die 1974 in dem gleichnamigen Nachtclub in Paris fotografiert wurde. Ergänzt wird diese Arbeit durch ein Video über den Einsatz amerikanischer Kampfhubschrauber gleichen Namens 2007 in Bagdad.

 

Zwei verbindende Texte beziehen sich auf die Herkunft des Begriffs CRAZY HORSE.

 

Darüber hinaus zeigen wir die Serie, IST DIE FOTOGRAFIE … und eine Auswahl seiner durch zahlreiche Publikationen bekannten Bilder als VINTAGE PRINTS (dieser Begriff wird für einen Abzug verwendet, der kurz nach der Aufnahme, d.h. In engem Zusammenhang zum ursprünglichen künstlerischen Konzept, vom Fotografen selbst in der Dunkelkammer vergrößert wurde).