Barbara Kasten & Deborah Irmas: High Heels and Ground Glass: Pioneering Women Photographers, 1990

This fascinating film shows the life and work of five outstanding photographers who were born around the turn of the century and perfected their craft at a time when photography was still a male domain. Using examples of her photographs with extracts from the news of the day, her interviews in front of the camera are interwoven to tell a story about the lives of working women living in the turbulent decades of the mid-twentieth century.

 

Gisele Freund, a reporter and photographer, describes her shocking escape from Nazi Germany with negatives stuck to her body. Fashion photographer Louise Dahl-Wolfe recalls her development from a young art student to the creator of Harper’s bazaar covers. Maurine Loomis was a very successful photographer of Hollywood stars. Lisette Model, the teacher of Diane Arbus, reveals her method for successful photography. Eiko Yamazawa practiced her art in Japan for over seventy years with the elegant eye of an abstract painter. These committed women share their successes and struggles with openness and warmth.

 

Published and distributed by Filmakers Library.

Performed from 12 o’ clock every hour until 0 o’ clock.

Barbara Kasten & Deborah Irmas: High Heels and Ground Glass: Pioneering Women Photographers, 1990

This fascinating film shows the life and work of five outstanding photographers who were born around the turn of the century and perfected their craft at a time when photography was still a male domain. Using examples of her photographs with extracts from the news of the day, her interviews in front of the camera are interwoven to tell a story about the lives of working women living in the turbulent decades of the mid-twentieth century.

 

Gisele Freund, a reporter and photographer, describes her shocking escape from Nazi Germany with negatives stuck to her body. Fashion photographer Louise Dahl-Wolfe recalls her development from a young art student to the creator of Harper’s bazaar covers. Maurine Loomis was a very successful photographer of Hollywood stars. Lisette Model, the teacher of Diane Arbus, reveals her method for successful photography. Eiko Yamazawa practiced her art in Japan for over seventy years with the elegant eye of an abstract painter. These committed women share their successes and struggles with openness and warmth.

 

Published and distributed by Filmakers Library.

Performed from 12 o’ clock every hour until 0 o’ clock.

Barbara Kasten & Deborah Irmas: High Heels and Ground Glass: Pioneering Women Photographers, 1990

Dieser faszinierende Film zeigt das Leben und Werk von fünf herausragenden Fotografinnen, die um die Jahrhundertwende geboren wurden und ihr Handwerk in einer Zeit perfektionierten, als die Fotografie noch eine Männerdomäne war. Anhand von Beispielen ihrer Fotografien mit Ausschnitten aus den Nachrichten des Tages werden ihre Interviews vor der Kamera miteinander verflochten, um eine Geschichte über das Leben berufstätiger Frauen zu erzählen, die in den turbulenten Jahrzehnten der Mitte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts leben.

 

Gisele Freund, eine Reporterin und Fotografin, beschreibt ihre erschütternde Flucht aus Nazi-Deutschland mit Negativen, die an ihren Körper geklebt sind. Die Modefotografin Louise Dahl-Wolfe erinnert sich an ihre Entwicklung vom jungen Kunststudenten zum Schöpfer von Harpers Bazaar-Covern. Maurine Loomis war eine sehr erfolgreiche Fotografin von Hollywood-Stars. Lisette Model, die Lehrerin von Diane Arbus, verrät ihre Methode für eine gelungene Fotografie. Eiko Yamazawa praktizierte ihre Kunst in Japan über siebzig Jahre lang mit dem eleganten Auge eines abstrakten Malers. Diese engagierten Frauen teilen ihre Erfolge und Kämpfe mit Offenheit und Wärme.

 

Veröffentlicht und vertrieben von Filmakers Library.

 

Aufgeführt ab 12 Uhr jede volle Stunde bis 0 Uhr. 

Barbara Kasten & Deborah Irmas: High Heels and Ground Glass: Pioneering Women Photographers, 1990

Dieser faszinierende Film zeigt das Leben und Werk von fünf herausragenden Fotografinnen, die um die Jahrhundertwende geboren wurden und ihr Handwerk in einer Zeit perfektionierten, als die Fotografie noch eine Männerdomäne war. Anhand von Beispielen ihrer Fotografien mit Ausschnitten aus den Nachrichten des Tages werden ihre Interviews vor der Kamera miteinander verflochten, um eine Geschichte über das Leben berufstätiger Frauen zu erzählen, die in den turbulenten Jahrzehnten der Mitte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts leben.

 

Gisele Freund, eine Reporterin und Fotografin, beschreibt ihre erschütternde Flucht aus Nazi-Deutschland mit Negativen, die an ihren Körper geklebt sind. Die Modefotografin Louise Dahl-Wolfe erinnert sich an ihre Entwicklung vom jungen Kunststudenten zum Schöpfer von Harpers Bazaar-Covern. Maurine Loomis war eine sehr erfolgreiche Fotografin von Hollywood-Stars. Lisette Model, die Lehrerin von Diane Arbus, verrät ihre Methode für eine gelungene Fotografie. Eiko Yamazawa praktizierte ihre Kunst in Japan über siebzig Jahre lang mit dem eleganten Auge eines abstrakten Malers. Diese engagierten Frauen teilen ihre Erfolge und Kämpfe mit Offenheit und Wärme.

 

Veröffentlicht und vertrieben von Filmakers Library.

 

Aufgeführt ab 12 Uhr jede volle Stunde bis 0 Uhr.